Don’t H8 What You Ain’t

The NOH8 Campaign was started by photographer Adam Bouska and his partner Jeff Parshley in response to the passage of Proposition 8, a measure that added an amendment to the California Constitution recognizing only marriages between a man and a woman, back in 2008.

Californians of all sorts, celebrities, politicians, artists, gay people, straight people, everyday people, have engaged in this silent protest by posing for NOH8 signature photographs.  For people who are unfamiliar with the NOH8 Campaign, this video gives a succinct description of the co-founder’s overall message.

The concept is simple, but the statement is profound.  Love is universal.

About jamienicoledonovan

I am a Chapman University student double majoring in Public Relations/Advertising and dance. View all posts by jamienicoledonovan

8 responses to “Don’t H8 What You Ain’t

  • amandavo

    I LOVE the NOH8 campaign. Have you seen this video for FCKH8?

    I think this might be an interesting addition to your blog. Yeah, it’s profane and uses a lot of cussing, but it definitely gets the message across and grabs your attention. Your blog is great so far–I think the post length is perfect and you show your dedication to the cause. Can’t wait to see what else you have to say!

    • jamienicoledonovan

      Amanda,

      I LOVE this video! When I went to write my second post it immediately came to mind but I couldn’t remember what I had searched for when I originally found it. Thank you for sending it back my way. This is an excellent piece to work with for my blog. I appreciate the feedback and look forward to hearing other suggestions from you.

      Thank you for agreeing to FCKH8 with me,
      Jamie

  • sarahshulman

    Jamie-

    I love your topic and i LOVE this post. I didn’t know much about the NOH8 campaign, but your post definitely got me to research it further. I also loved Amanda’s video that she suggested to you. It took a totally different and crude approach to the silent campaign, but I really enjoyed it since it was out there and different. I didn’t realize that it came from the Miss USA 2009 controversy, but I guess it makes sense since that was such a huge deal. I really like your topic and I am learning a lot that will also help me with the remainder of my blog posts. I am behind you 100 percent and can’t wait to keep on reading!

    -Sarah Shulman

    http://thatssoogay.wordpress.com/

  • Taryn Langton

    The NOH8 Campaign is one of my favorite efforts towards the cause of repealing Prop 8. I like that you chose this photo, with the US soldier advocating for the cause, especially because of the recent actions taken to remove the US Military’s “Don’t Ask Don’t Tell” Policy. We are slowly but surely making changes, and with NOH8 and the abolition of DADT, its only a matter of time before California enacts some helpful change for Gay Marriage.

    Taryn

  • clcorbin

    I learned about this campaign not too far back and it was so inspirational. I loved how you choose to talk about it. The photos were sooo great. I also loved Amanda’s video. You seem to have a great grip on this topic and are very informed. Im excited to read more on your topic as your blog progresses. An interview with James would be great.

  • hatha102

    Jamie,

    Your topic is so important. I was astounded when prop 8 passed, I honestly thought better of California. I really hope that it doesn’t stick. Is there some way for us readers to get involved?

    -Monika

  • Jessica Kelly

    Jamie,

    I love the title of this post, as well as the campaign you talk about in it (I’ll have to check it out further)! It really is amazing when you think how a lot of the hate towards gay marriage comes from others because they aren’t gay or they haven’t experienced that particular struggle.
    You’ve added another brilliant voice to such a strong movement, and I’m very interested to go through your blog further and learn more!

  • mollyhersh

    I like that you posted this. It shows just how much support you have behind you. If this issue wasn’t so important to so many people, such a campaign would never exist. You definitely also have many people also passionate about the opposing side. I think the title of this post “Don’t H8 What You Ain’t” pretty much describes it perfectly…

Leave a comment